**OFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE REGULAR UNIFIED SCHOOL BOARD MEETING** – The Unified Board of Education met in Davenport on February 13, 2023. Pursuant to laws and notices posted at Bruning-Davenport Schools, Cornerstone Bank, Bruning Bank, Bruning Post Office, Davenport Post Office, and also published in The Hebron Journal-Register on February 3, 2023; all proceedings were taken while the meeting was open to the public.

President Jerry Baysinger called the meeting to order at 7:30 pm. Unified members present were Jeff Hoins, Jamie Koch, Sarah Krehnke, Ryan Miller, and Sheri Norder. Local board members present were Dan Domeier, Pat Kowalski, James Manes, Kevin Parks, Ryne Philippi, and Brad Williams. Also present were Superintendent Kolin Haecker, Principal Damen Kugel, Erika Brinegar, Sara Dierking, and Daniel Schlichtman. Staff members present were Melinda Kerwood, Leah Werner, and Logan Zeleny.

President Baysinger welcomed all guests and recognized the Open Meetings Act.

The Consent Agenda included the agenda, minutes of January 11, 2023, Unified Board meeting, Treasurer's Report, and the January claims. Sarah Krehnke moved to approve the Consent Agenda as presented, seconded by Jamie Koch. Roll call vote (6-0)

A parent spoke during the public forum.

Principal Kugel reported on the following items – Patriot's Pen: Emma Hoins placed 2 out of 2,444 entries – 5 students were selected for MS CRC Honor Choir – BD was selected for the Nebraska State Bandmasters Association Excellence in Academic Achievement Award – Students from BD, Deshler, Heartland, Sandy Creek, and Shickley will collaborate for the Striv Stream for Sub-District basketball at Davenport – BD and Shickley are looking into a collaborative BDS Coop Striv Channel - Results from basketball, speech, FFA, FCCLA, and Quiz Bowl were presented.

Superintendent Haecker reported on the following – The elementary quiz bowl team placed  $3^{rd}$  at ESU 5 Tournament – Jr. High Music Contest will be in Davenport on February  $17^{th}$  – Paige Oltmans and Braiden Durflinger were selected to the CRC Honor Band and UNK Honor Band – Durflinger was selected for CRC Honor Choir – The staff appreciation dinner will be on March  $17^{th}$  at the Opera House in Fairfield.

## **Discussion item:**

- A. ESSER III Funding no public input
- B. Threat Assessment The current Threat Assessment Policy (3039) was reviewed. The Crisis Team will meet Friday the 17th.

**New Business:** (All motions require a roll call vote and all carried 6-0 unless noted.)

- A. Krehnke moved to approve NASB Membership dues of \$3,249, seconded by Sheri Norder.
- B. Jeff Hoins motioned to approve the FCCLA State Convention overnight trip to Lincoln and hotel expenses on April 2-4. Ryan Miller seconded the motion.
- C. Koch moved to approve Bruning Bank and Cornerstone Bank as the designated financial institutions for Bruning-Davenport USD, seconded by Krehnke.
- D. Norder moved to approve the Hebron Journal-Register as the designated local paper for publications, seconded by Miller
- E. Koch motioned to approve the senior sneak trip to Branson, MO March 24-26, 2023, seconded by Norder.
- F. Hoins moved to approve Erika Brinegar to be a signer on the Cornerstone Bank accounts excluding the General Fund, seconded by Krehnke.
- G. Krehnke moved to approve Erika Brinegar to be a signer on the Bruning Bank accounts excluding the Unemployment Fund, the Coordsen Scholarship Fund, and General Fund Reserve, seconded by Miller.
- H. Koch moved to approve Jerry Baysinger and Sarah Krehnke as the General Fund bank account signers, seconded by Norder. Roll call vote (4-0 Baysinger and Krehnke abstained)
- I. Hoins moved to approve the partnership agreement with the ESU5 for Spanish Distance Learning 2023-24 school year, seconded by Koch.
- J. Miller motioned to approve Morgan Beals as the new ELA teacher for the 2023-24 school year, seconded by Krehnke.
- K. Koch motioned to approve Ruth Kowalski as the new 2-8 Principal for the 2023-24 school year. Krehnke seconded the motion.

| President Baysinger adjourned the meeting at 8:06 pm. |                                    |
|---|------------------------------------|
|   | Sara Dierking, Recording Secretary |